And The Winner Is: Lamar Jackson, Deshaun Watson, Jabrill Peppers, Dede Westbrook & Baker Mayfield Are the 2016 Heisman Finalists

December 6, 2016 0


The 2016 NCAA football season is coming to an end soon and on Monday the 2016 Heisman Trophy finalists were announced. When the 2016 Heisman Trophy awards ceremony take place, Louisville quarterback Lamar Jackson, Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson, Michigan linebacker/wide receiver Jabrill Peppers and Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield and wide receiver Dede Westbrook will be in the attendance hoping to take home the award.


Lamar Jackson is a sophomore quarterback from the University of Louisville who in my opinion will win the Heisman Trophy on Saturday night. Lamar Jackson has scored a total of 51 touchdowns this season, 21 rushing and 30 passing. Jackson has also passed for 3,390 yards and rushed for 1,598 yards. The Louisville Cardinals finished with a record of (9-3) and they will face LSU in the Citrus Bowl on New Years’ Eve.

Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson may be a top 5 pick in the 2017 NFL Draft after a very success college football career. Watson passed for 3,914 yards and 37 touchdowns this season and for the second straight year, Watson has lead his Clemson Tigers to the College Football Players and a ACC Title. Deshaun Watson was in the running for the Heisman Trophy last year finishing in third place. We will see Deshaun Watson playing on Sunday’s during the 2017 NFL season.

Michigan Wolverines linebacker/ Mister do it all Jabrill Peppers is one of my favorite players in college football. Peppers nearly lead his team to a Big 10 title finishing the season with 72 tackles, 16 of those tackles for loss and 4 sacks. Peppers also returned punts and played a few snaps on offense. Peppers has rushed for 167 yards and 3 touchdowns for the Wolverines.

The Oklahoma Sooners will have two players represented. Sooners quarterback Baker Mayfield finished with 3,669 yards and 38 touchdowns and he lead his team to a Big 12 title this season. Mayfield has already announced he will returned to school next season and although I don’t believe he will win the Heisman this season, he could be a front runner to start the 2017 college football season. Also representing the Sooners will be wide receiver Dede Westbrook. Many believe Westbrook is the best overall talent in the country but I don’t believe he will take home the award this season. Westbrook finished the game with 74 receptions, 1,465 receiving yards and 16 touchdowns. Westbrook will be a first round draft pick in my opinion.

The Heisman Trophy award will be presented to one of these young men on Saturday December 10th. Stay tuned to HHS1987. Follow @eldorado2452 on Twitter and Instagram for all your College Football and sports news.


© 2016, . All rights reserved.