L.A. Rap Group Baby Stone Gorillas Drop Debut Mixtape

March 11, 2022 0

unnamed-1-12 L.A. Rap Group Baby Stone Gorillas Drop Debut Mixtape

Ping-ponging atop West Coast instrumentals with verve and variety, Baby Stone Gorillas are taking over the streets with their powered-up posse cuts. After lighting up their city with fiery singles for almost a year and winning fans like Drake and Shaquille O’Neal, the L.A. crew shares BABYST5XNE GORILLAS, their debut mixtape.

With production from L.A. mainstays like RonRonTheProducer, among others, the new mixtape remains electric throughout its 23 tracks, benefitting from the diverse styles and energies of the crew’s four emcees. EKillaOffDaBlocck attacks instrumentals with an aggressive bark, jumping out of the speakers with his raw nerve swagger. Top5ivee is the crew member most likely to use melody, alternating clever bars with tuneful hooks with an ever-present smirk on his face. P4K‘s laid back delivery places him in a proud lineage of L.A. rappers like Snoop Dogg–he turns heads with his endless witticisms, delivered with a thick Cali accent. 5Much is perhaps the crew’s most unique stylist, packing syllables into tight rhythmic pockets with seemingly little effort. All four emcees make themselves known on the tape’s “B$G Intro,” demonstrating what separates them from the pack and from each other.

The new mixtape is home to recent single Do It Up,” an electro-funk throwback with a hook from Wallie The Sensei, as well as 22 new songs, each with the potential to become a new West Coast classic. Armed with a beat from RonRon, “Stick Squeezers” finds the BSG boys recruiting Zona Man and Slumlord Trill to tear up a sample of Too $hort & Lil Jon’s “Couldn’t Be A Better Player.” On “With That,” the four-man crew toe-tag a bass-heavy beat as they explain why they’re the coolest apes in the jungle, and on “In A Circle,” they nab BandGang Lonnie Bands to add some Detroit sauce. Though they specialize in hard-hitting street stories, BSG is equally adept at introspection, as shown in project highlights like “Keep Goin” and “Felt A Lot Of Pain.” With additional appearances from 1TakeJayBla$ta, and many more, BABYST5XNE GORILLAS is available everywhere via EMPIRE.

The four members of Baby Stone Gorillas have known each other since they were 10-years-old, and were friends far before they dreamed of music stardom. The rappers have distinct styles and roles: 5Much brings a hustler’s mentality and vents about his life, while EK packs the energy. P4K is the proud instigator known for slick-talking raps, while Top5ivee often comes up with B.S.G.’s catchy hooks. Last summer, the group’s self-titled video racked up views in the millions, precipitating a winning streak of viral singles that included the Pitchforkapproved Military,” which earned airplay on Drake’s OVOSound Radio, and Untouchable” ft. RJMrLA, catching the attention of Shaquille O’Neal.

With the new BABYST5XNE GORILLASthe four South L.A. spitters are excited to show the world that they’re the kings of the jungle in SoCal and beyond.

Buy/Stream BABYST5XNE GORILLAShttps://music.empi.re/babyst5xne

Watch “Do It Up” ft. Wallie The Sensei: https://youtu.be/11-USp41ao8

1. B$G Intro
2. Flame Strangs
3. Body For Body
4. Keep Goin
5. On To Tha Next (ft. WeezGotti)
6. Back Up
7. With That (ft. COLDGAME)
8. Blitz
9. 5:05 (ft. Baby Stone Gorillas, Twinn Red, BoogieFrmDa8 & Rosecrans Dame)
10. That’s What You Supposed To Do
11. Pause!
12. Do It Up (ft. Wallie The Sensei)
13. Brag Different
14. Stick Squeezers (ft. Zona Man & Slumlord Trill)
15. Wit Me (ft. 1TakeJay)
16. Lights, Camera, Action
17. Pop A Perk
18. Members Only Reloaded (Richmond2LA) (ft. Bla$ta, WaymoBandzz, BtherGangVonnie, BoozaKeepsScorin & Slumlord Trill)
19. Start Sumn
20. Soldier Musik (ft. Zona Man)
21. Felt A Lot Of Pain
22. In A Circle (ft. BandGang LonnieBands & Youngaveli)
23. V.I.P.

© 2022, . All rights reserved.