Tommy Boy Music Announces Compilation Album ‘…And You Don’t Stop’ in Honor of Hip Hop’s 50th Anniversary

August 8, 2023 0

Tommy-Boy-logo-2021-billboard-1548-1622815529-500x331 Tommy Boy Music Announces Compilation Album '...And You Don't Stop' in Honor of Hip Hop's 50th Anniversary

Album available for streaming and digital download on August 11, 2023 


Pre-order for 6 LP box set available here now


Legendary independent hip hop and electronic label Tommy Boy Music, announces a new compilation album entitled, …And You Don’t Stop: A Celebration of 50 Years of Hip Hop, set to be released on August 11, the date officially recognized as the birth of hip hop. Commemorating the 50th Anniversary of the genre, the album will feature some of the greatest hits from Tommy Boy’s catalog, with tracks by influential acts like Naughty By Nature, De La Soul, Digital Underground, and Queen Latifah, plus 10 digitally unreleased tracks from G.L.O.B.E & Whiz Kid, Sweet Trio, The Kryptic Krew, and more. …And You Don’t Stop will be available for streaming and download on August 11, with a 6 LP vinyl box set available this October.


Featuring 50 tracks, …And You Don’t Stop is a curated compilation of music from Tommy Boy’s historic catalog, ranging from 1980s foundational hip hop songs to tracks exemplifying hip hop at the turn of the century. The first single will be the previously unreleased “This Beat is From the Bronx” by G.L.O.B.E. and Whiz Kid on August 8. Listen here:


In addition, the vinyl package includes biographical liner notes from veteran hip hop journalist and author Kathy Iandoli. Tommy Boy Music is also releasing new lyric videos for iconic tracks “Gangsta’s Paradise” by Coolio, “Hip Hop Hooray” by Naughty By Nature, and “Ladies First” by Queen Latifah featuring Monie Love, which can be seen on Tommy Boy’s YouTube Channel.


Tommy Boy Music and its parent company Reservoir Media have partnered with the Universal Hip Hop Museum for this upcoming release, and the vinyl will have a QR code for a direct donation to the Museum. Fans can also support the Museum here. In addition, Tommy Boy Music is working closely with the Universal Hip Hop Museum on additional programming surrounding the 50th Anniversary of hip hop, spearheaded by Reservoir Executive Vice President of A&R and Catalog Development Faith Newman, who also serves on the Museum’s Board. Through her membership on the Board, Newman has donated personal memorabilia to the Museum for upcoming exhibitions, and she also helped coordinate the Museum’s Hip Hop’s 50th Birthday Jam!, a free concert and block party event in Mill Pond Park in the Bronx, NY on August 11. 


Newman commented, “As someone who has devoted my entire music career to hip hop, it means so much to celebrate this massive milestone for the genre. Even more, to bring together the Universal Hip Hop Museum and the historic songs of Tommy Boy to create this compilation is a once in a lifetime opportunity.” She added, “I am utterly thrilled to help curate and share this music with hip hop fans everywhere.” 


“The Universal Hip Hop Museum is proud to celebrate the 50th Anniversary of the culture with this historic hip hop compilation from Tommy Boy Music. As a legendary independent label, signing influential acts like Naughty By Nature, De La Soul, Digital Underground, and Queen Latifah and others, they launched the careers of many of today’s Hip Hop icons that we celebrate today,” said President of the Universal Hip Hop Museum Rocky Bucano.


…And You Don’t Stop: A Celebration of 50 Years of Hip Hop Track Listing



  1. “Jazzy Sensation (Manhattan Version -Remix) [feat. Tina B.]” by The Kryptic Krew
  2. “Planet Rock (Vocal & Bonus Beats I)” by Afrika Bambaataa & The Soulsonic Force
  3. “Play at Your Own Risk” [12” Mix] by Planet Patrol
  4. “Pack Jam (Look Out For the OVC) [12” Mix]” by Jonzun Crew
  5. “Looking for the Perfect Beat (Vocal)” by Afrika Bambaataa & The Soulsonic Force
  6. “Rock The House (You’ll Never Be) [7” Mix]” by Pressure Drop
  7. “Play That Beat Mr. D.J. [7” Mix]” by G.L.O.B.E. & Whiz Kid



  1. “Itchin’ for a Scratch” by Force M.D.’s
  2. “This Beat is From the Bronx (Edit)” by G.L.O.B.E. & Whiz Kid
  3. “Facts of Life” by Rock Squad
  4. “Believe In Yourself” by Double Cross MC’s
  5. “Non-Stop [12” Mix]” by Sweet Trio 
  6. “Celebrate! (Everybody)” by G.L.O.B.E. & PowWow
  7. “Force M.D.’s Meet the Fat Boys [feat. Fat Boys]” by Force M.D.’s
  8. “Just Say Stet” by Stetsasonic



  1. “Go Stetsa I” by Stetsasonic
  2. “Chilly Reds” by Chilly Reds
  3. “It’s Time (Edit)” by SS2
  4. “Get Ridiculous (Edit)” by MC G.L.O.B.E
  5. “Talkin’ All That Jazz” by Stetsasonic
  6. “The Humpty Dance” by Digital Underground
  7. “Plug Tunin’ (Last Chance To Comprehend)” by De La Soul
  8. “Ladies First (Radio Edit) [feat. Monie Love]” by Queen Latifah
  9. “Doowutchyalike (Radio Mix)” by Digital Underground



  1. “Me Myself and I” by De La Soul
  2. “Come Into My House” by Queen Latifah
  3. “Kiss You Back (Smack on the Cheek Mix)” by Digital Underground
  4. “Ooh I Love You Rakeem (Baggin’ Ladies Mix)” by Prince Rakeem
  5. “O.P.P.” by Naughty By Nature
  6. “Uptown Anthem” by Naughty By Nature
  7. “Latifah’s Had It Up 2 Here” by Queen Latifah
  8. “Jump Around” by House of Pain
  9. “Gangsta Bitch” by Apache
  10. “Hip Hop Hooray” by Naughty By Nature



  1. “Come Baby Come” by K7
  2. “Wild Thang” by LeShaun
  3. “Back From the Dead” by House of Pain
  4. “Fantastic Voyage (Timber Mix)” by Coolio
  5. “Hip 2 Da Game” by Lord Finesse
  6. “Feel Me Flow by Naughty By Nature
  7. “Gangsta’s Paradise [feat. LV]” by Coolio
  8. “L.A., L.A. (Kuwait Mix) [feat. Mobb Deep & Tragedy Khadafi]” by Capone-N-Noreaga



  1. “T.O.N.Y. (Top Of New York) [feat. Tragedy Khadafi]” by Capone-N-Noreaga
  2. “C U When U Get There [feat. 40 Thevz]” by Coolio
  3. “Money (Dollar Bill) [feat. Sadat X]” by Everlast
  4. “More Than U Know [feat. De La Soul]” by Prince Paul
  5. “Superthug” by Noreaga
  6. “Deep Az the Root” by Above the Law
  7. “Once Again Here to Kick One For You [feat. Grand Puba & Sadat X]” by Handsome Boy Modeling School
  8. “My Projects” by Coo Coo Cal



Tommy Boy Music, a Reservoir-owned company, is a legendary independent hip hop and electronic record label founded in 1981 and acquired by Reservoir in 2021. Tommy Boy Music helped to launch the careers of hip hop icons such as Queen Latifah, Coolio, Naughty By Nature, Digital Underground, House of Pain and Force M.D.’s, among many others. Tommy Boy Music also introduced EDM to mainstream audiences and helped to establish Latin freestyle and Latin hip hop. The label also includes the catalogs of Amherst Records, AVCO Records, and Rasa Music, which hold masters and publishing rights for a diverse collection of ‘70s Soul, Disco, Jazz, and Meditation music. Tommy Boy Music joins Chrysalis Records to form Reservoir’s recorded music division. 




Anchored in the birthplace of Hip Hop culture, the Universal Hip Hop Museum broke ground in the Bronx in 2021. Built as a space for audiences, artists, and technology to converge and create unparalleled educational and entertainment experiences, the museum is slated to open in Bronx Point in 2024. The UHHM will celebrate and preserve the history of local and global Hip Hop music and culture past, present, and future. For more information:

© 2023, . All rights reserved.